Death to Bing Bar!

As some of you may know, I’m a huge fan of using MDT to automate the building of images. This automation saves time and means that I can simply rebuild my hybrid images quarterly or monthly if I need to, all with significantly reduced user error.

However, a few months back for some reason the windows update site started pushing the Bing Bar during image build and during subsequent deployments.

I know, in a perfect world, we could just block these updates via WSUS if our deployment share was configured to look at the WSUS server, but not all of us are as lucky. So check your BDD.log file, determine the KB number of the offending update, (Bing Bar 7.2 in this case) and copy the following code to the CustomSettings.ini file.

WUMU_ExcludeKB001=2673774

If you wanted to add another update to block you would just add another line with WUMU_ExcludeKB002= and whatever the KB is of what you’re trying to block.

