How To: Enable Monitoring in MDT

I get lots of e-mails from people that are having trouble with MDT, which I don’t mind, they’re usually pretty good questions, and lots of times I learn as much from my readers as they do from me, so I consider it a win/win. Unfortunately, it’s hard for me to help sometimes because monitoring is not enabled on their shares, which really makes it hard to find out exactly where the problem is. Some guides out there referring to MDT 2010 wont show you how to do this as this feature is only available in MDT 2012 and 2013. However, enabling monitoring is pretty easy.

Image

Right click the share in the workbench, select properties.

 

Image

Select the Monitoring Tab

 

Image

Select Enable Monitoring for this share.

Image

Now in the monitoring section in the share, you’re in business.

Image

In that final picture you can see the name, step, overall progress, and time elapsed. If configured properly in your image and/or your domain, you could even use the Remote Desktop feature here to RDP into systems that are having trouble or need things done by hand. Pretty slick if you ask me!

Also check out my post on extending the time MDT will remember systems in the monitoring tab, by default it’s 3 days, which can be a bit short, if you’re in a smaller shop, you could get away with 14 days or maybe even longer. Its an easy tweak to one XML file in the MDT programfiles folder.

