Importing a Custom Wim From Your Build Share to Your MDT 2013 Production Share

Last night I was working with a client, when he asked a really simple (but good) question, I knew I should write this one up.

So, you’ve built an image, and you’ve captured it using a standard client task sequence, now what? How do I take a captured image and move into a production share?

Import00
 In production, import the image by right clicking Operating Systems.
Import01
 Select a Custom Wim file
Import02
 Image should be in the Captures folder. Make sure to select Move
Import03
 Setup files won’t be needed.
Import04
 Set Directory Name
Import05
 Once everything looks good, select next.
Import06
 Once it’s imported, rename the file to something reasonable, in this case, I cut the first half.
Import07
 Simply update the image in the task sequence.

Now, if you don’t have a task sequence, you’ll be asked which image to use when you create one.

