Decomissioning PCs with MDT

Now, I’ve known for a while there’s a way you can use MDT to wipe systems after you’re done with them. I know this isn’t some kind of KGB/CIA proof standard of wiping things, but it does the trick since I have PCs we were evaluating and I just need to send them back to the reseller. In this case, I’m dealing with systems that simply won’t boot to USB thanks to our wonderful secure boot technology, bargain bin USB flash drives so I need a task sequence based solution.

A while back I found this…
https://scriptimus.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/mdt-2010-wiping-disks/

Googling the issue, I found this…
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/f066e0b5-013a-4baa-9566-7eef8a50e177/wiping-a-disk-with-mdt-task-sequence

So, it really is pretty straight forward, just use the replace task sequence, and create a task sequence that’ll reboot into WinPE and wipe the disk. At first it didn’t work, buy

crts3
Create a Standard Client Replace TS
crts2
Note that by default there are conditions to running these steps. I added WipeDisk=True
crts
Now, just browse to your share and run your shortcut to the wizard. Don’t run MDT from UNC? You’re doing it wrong.
crts4
Yeah, We got a task sequence for that!
crts5
WinPE is downloading! Reboot is Next!
crts6
Really I just wanted an excuse to show my WinPE wallpaper…

Okay, I know this wouldn’t fly at the DoD and all you tinfoil hat wearing mouth breathers are yelling “BUT THE GUBMENT CAN STILL GET MY DATA!” Okay, Okay, If three wipes of zeros don’t assure the Fox Mulder in the back of your head. We need to look into some serious data sanitation napalm. This is where sDelete comes in handy.

http://syswow.blogspot.com/2012/05/secure-dod-drive-wiping-with-sccm.html

For you security types: check that out, it’s a SCCM task sequence, but it’s the same idea, no reason why it wouldn’t work with MDT. If you’re still that opposed to writing zeros or using sDelete and insist on using a DoD certified solution by hand, look into DaRT, Microsoft’s free¹ USB repair utility for Software Assurance Users.

¹ Free as in your employer pays lots and lots of money for a Volume Licensing Service Agreement or are a bad person that downloads software from bad places.

