Lenovos Not Identifying As Laptops, Chassis Type 31

Just got a pallet of fresh off the truck Lenovos in today, and of course if they don’t get the shiny new Windows 10 image here quick I won’t hear the end of it. Naturally, the first thing I want to do is image them, but I found it strange when I was prompted for the system type when assigning the hostname from the LTI wizard.

The wizard was showing %ComputerTypeName% and the serial with an error, that hostname was too long it said.

The only explanation was that for some reason these systems were failing to identify as laptops, as my customsettings.ini file is supposed to set hostnames based on a basic FormFactor and Serial Format. To make matters worse, this throws a wrench in all kinds of stuff like what OU and applications they get during deployment, so this was a problem that needed an immediate solution. Some googling led me to the wmic command to determine “chassistype” and I got a chassis type 31. Then I found this…

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/office/en-US/a38f1593-34d2-4434-a510-fc89c35cb4f8/mdt-chassistype-31?forum=mdt

Chassis type 31 is “convertible” and I wondered, “Isn’t this all in the ZTIGather.wsf?” Sure enough, adding ,”31″ to the end of ZTIGather.wsf solves the issue….

It’s Friday, I’m going home. Its been one of those weeks, and next week is go time…

Update 4/6: Just got an e-mail from Paul at 1E mentioning I should “include a reference to table 17 in this document: http://www.dmtf.org/sites/default/files/standards/documents/DSP0134_3.1.1.pdf. It lists the official chassis type and thus gives us all confidence that we’re handling the new values correctly.” Thanks Paul!

