Editing The Registry With MDT

I was helping somebody understand how to edit the registry with MDT, which isn’t very intuitive or obvious to some, and I ended up diagramming the entire commandline syntax of an example, and I figured it might help somebody else, so we’ll walk through it step by step on the blog today. First, you need to know what registry key you’re trying to set: In this example, we’re setting the lock screensaver option. This can easily be done via the command prompt like so:

reg.exe add "HKCU\Control Panel\Desktop" /v ScreenSaverIsSecure /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

What’s going on here? Look below.

Part of the beauty of task sequences is anything that can be done via commandline can be done via a task sequence. Simply Add it as a command line in your task sequence.

This is especially helpful when building an image. By using a combination of this and a few other tricks, I have fully automated by windows 7 image build so the hardest thing I have to do is run a task sequence which in turn builds and captures an image for me.

See:
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc742162(v=ws.11).aspx
https://ss64.com/nt/reg.html

